Search here...


Spread the love

By Glam & Essence

With voting over,Senator Ahmed Lawan has been elected the Senate President of the 9th Senate, defeating his co- contestant, Senator Ali Ndume.
Lawan got 79 votes to defeat Ndume, who scored 28 votes.
Lawan, who represents Yobe North Senatorial District, won the contest by a landslide as he got 73.83 percent of the vote cast by the lawmakers.
His victory was announced by the clerk of the National Assembly, Mohammed Sani-Omolori, who added that 107 senators cast their votes.
He was immediately sworn-in by the clerk of the National Assembly.
Before the voting start, there was commotion at the Senate as lawmakers disagreed on what form of voting system should be adopted to elect principal officers of the upper chamber.
Trouble had started when the Clerk of the Senate, Mohammed Sani, read President Muhammadu Buhari’s proclamation letter to members of the Senate, and announced that open ballot would be used for voting exercise.
This led to commotion as those who supported the idea and those opposed to it engaged in a shouting match.

Glam & Essence Magazine